Catalogue


Call the midwife : farewell to the East End /
Jennifer Worth ; clinical editor, Terri Coates.
edition
1st U.S. ed.
imprint
New York : Ecco/HarperCollins, [2013],c2005.
description
321 p. ; 21 cm.
ISBN
0062270060 (pbk) :, 0062270060 (pbk.) :, 0062270060 (trade pbk.), 9780062270061 (pbk) :, 9780062270061 (pbk.) :, 9780062270061 (trade pbk.)
format(s)
Book
Holdings
More Details
added author
imprint
New York : Ecco/HarperCollins, [2013],c2005.
isbn
0062270060 (pbk) :
0062270060 (pbk.) :
0062270060 (trade pbk.)
9780062270061 (pbk) :
9780062270061 (pbk.) :
9780062270061 (trade pbk.)
general note
"First published in Great Britain in 2009 by Weidenfeld & Nicolson" --T.p. verso.
abstract
A heartwarming coming-of-age story and a startling look at women's lives in the poorest section of postwar London, this final book in the acclaimed memoir series is the basis for the acclaimed PBS series.
catalogue key
9956546
 
Includes bibliographical references (p. 321).
A Look Inside
About the Author
Author Affiliation
Jennifer Worth trained as a nurse at the Royal Berkshire Hospital in Reading, and was later ward sister at the Elizabeth Garrett Anderson Hospital in London, then the Marie Curie Hospital, also in London. Music had always been her passion, and in 1973 she left nursing in order to study music intensively, teaching piano and singing for about twenty-five years. Jennifer died in May 2011 after a short illness, leaving her husband, Philip; two daughters; and three grandchildren. Her books have all been bestsellers in England.
Summaries
Main Description
The final book in the acclaimed memoir series--the basis for the acclaimed PBS series: an enduring work of literary nonfiction that combines a heartwarming coming-of-age story and a startling look at women's lives in the poorest section of postwar London.
Main Description
The last book in the trilogy begun by Jennifer Worth's New York Times bestseller and the basis for the PBS series Call the Midwife When twenty-two-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood's most vivid chronicler. Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End is the last book in Worth's memoir trilogy, which the Times Literary Supplement described as "powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage" in the face of dire circumstances. Here, at last, is the full story of Chummy's delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan'mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth's first two books, Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times and Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty-unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease-and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community. A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters, Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End will appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the trilogy.
Table of Contents
'Youth's a Stuff Will Not Endure'p. 1
Three Men Went into a Restaurant…p. 4
Trust a Sailorp. 18
Cynthiap. 38
Lost Babiesp. 48
Sootp. 56
Nancyp. 64
Megan' mavep. 73
Meg the Gipsyp. 85
Mave the Motherp. 97
Madonna of the Pavementp. 116
The Fightp. 133
The Master's Armsp. 140
Tuberculosisp. 153
The Masterp. 162
The Mistressp. 177
The Angelsp. 187
Too Many Childrenp. 201
The Abortionistp. 210
Back-Street Abortionsp. 219
Stranger than Fictionp. 225
The Captain's Daughterp. 236
On the Shelfp. 269
The Weddingp. 282
Taxi!p. 294
Adieup. 304
Farewell to the East Endp. 312
Glossary of obstetric termsp. 315
Bibliographyp. 321
Table of Contents provided by Ingram. All Rights Reserved.

This information is provided by a service that aggregates data from review sources and other sources that are often consulted by libraries, and readers. The University does not edit this information and merely includes it as a convenience for users. It does not warrant that reviews are accurate. As with any review users should approach reviews critically and where deemed necessary should consult multiple review sources. Any concerns or questions about particular reviews should be directed to the reviewer and/or publisher.

  link to old catalogue

Report a problem