COVID-19: Updates on library services and operations.

Havel : a life /
Michael Zantovsky.
New York : Grove Press, 2014.
xiv, 543 pages, 32 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations, portraits ; 24 cm
0802123155 (Cloth), 9780802123152 (Cloth)
More Details
New York : Grove Press, 2014.
0802123155 (Cloth)
9780802123152 (Cloth)
contents note
Prologue -- 18 December 2011, a dark cold day -- Born with a silver spoon -- Portrait of the artist as a very young man -- The silver wind -- Good soldier Havel -- Olga -- The apprentice -- The garden party -- The sixties -- A private school of politics -- The memorandum -- The gathering storm -- Scoundrel times -- Mountain hotel -- Roll out the barrels -- The beggar's opera -- It's only rock 'n' roll -- The charter -- The mistake -- The greengrocer revolt -- The empire strikes back -- The trial -- Dear Olga -- Free at last -- The praise of folly -- The battle for Wenceslas Square -- That velvet thing -- The fog of revolution -- The road to the castle -- The bag of fleas -- The president of rock 'n' roll -- First we take Manhattan -- The we'll take the Kremlin -- The innocents abroad -- Making the fish -- The end of Czechoslovakia -- Waiting as a state of hope -- The bonfire of scruples -- In search of allies -- Back to Europe -- The yin and the yang -- Between life and death -- The ugly mood -- Farewell to arms -- Paroled -- Leaving.
Examines the life of a man who rose from being outcasted and imprisoned during Communist rule to become the last president of Czechoslovakia, the first president of the newly democratic Czech Republic and a human-rights activist.
catalogue key
Includes bibliographical references (pages 521-527) and index.

  link to old catalogue

Report a problem