Keyboard music from the Andreas Bach book and the Möller manuscript /
edited by Robert Hill ; foreword by Christoph Wolff.
Cambridge, Mass. : Department of Music, Harvard University : Distributed by Harvard University Press, 1991.
xlvii p., 210 p. of music. : 1 facsim. ; 31 cm.
More Details
Cambridge, Mass. : Department of Music, Harvard University : Distributed by Harvard University Press, 1991.
general note
Organ and harpsichord works by J.S. Bach (principally) and other period composers.
catalogue key
Includes bibliographical references (p. 199-201).
A Look Inside
Main Description
This anthology of 55 keyboard works provides an instructive picture of the music of the young J. S. Bach within the context of a spectrum of works by his elder contemporaries. The Andreas Bach Book and the so--called Moller Manuscript, the most important sources for the young Bach's keyboard music, were compiled in the early eighteenth century by Bach's eldest brother and only keyboard teacher, Johann Christoph Bach of Ohrdruf, himself a pupil of Johann Pachelbel. The significance of the two manuscripts lies not only in their close connection to J. S. Bach (as evidenced by Bach autographs in both books), but equally in the fact that they contain some of the most outstanding keyboard music by Bach's North German colleagues: Georg Bohm, Dietrich Buxtehude, and Johann Adam Reincken. While some of these compositions have been published in modern editions, others have been entirely overlooked. This anthology presents keyboard works by the young J. S. Bach which are either little known or are earlier versions of better known works (for example, the Passacaglia in C Minor, BWV 582). Also included are all the unpublished keyboard works in the two manuscripts, as well as works by lesser known composers for which modern editions are not easily accessible. Rounding out the picture are works by well--known contemporaries for which the transmission in the young Bach's circle proves particularly significant. Intended for both player and scholar, this edition offers the texts of the two manuscripts in an easy to read layout that emphasizes the clarity of the counterpoint. Of particular interest to organists is the presentation of the organ works in the appropriate notion of the time, on two staves with the pedal voice integrated in the bass staff.
Table of Contents
Foreword Abbreviations Used in the Inventories br> Introduction Manuscript Inventories Facsimile Johann Sebastian Bach
Prelude and Fugue in G Minor BWV 535a (MM 23)
Prelude and Fugue in D Minor BWV 549a (MM 42)
Fantasia and Imitatio in B Minor BWV 563 (ABB 52)
Fantasia in C Major BWV 570 (ABB 45)
Passacaglia in C Minor BWV 582 (ABB 24)
Chorale Prelude ""Gott, durch deine Cute"" BWV 724 (ABB 30)
Chorale Prelude ""Wie schon leuchtet der Morgenstern"" BWV 739 (MM 43)
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

This information is provided by a service that aggregates data from review sources and other sources that are often consulted by libraries, and readers. The University does not edit this information and merely includes it as a convenience for users. It does not warrant that reviews are accurate. As with any review users should approach reviews critically and where deemed necessary should consult multiple review sources. Any concerns or questions about particular reviews should be directed to the reviewer and/or publisher.

  link to old catalogue

Report a problem