Catalogue


Occupational hazards : my time governing in Iraq /
Rory Stewart.
imprint
London : Picador,. 2006.
description
xix, 422 p. : maps ; 23 cm.
ISBN
0330440497 (hbk.) :, 9780330440493 (hbk.) :
format(s)
Book
Holdings
More Details
imprint
London : Picador,. 2006.
isbn
0330440497 (hbk.) :
9780330440493 (hbk.) :
standard identifier
9780330440493
catalogue key
6079633
A Look Inside
Awards
This item was nominated for the following awards:
Scottish Arts Council Book Award, GBR, 2007 : Nominated
Excerpts
Flap Copy
Rory Stewart was born in Hong Kong and grew up in Malaysia and Scotland. After a brief period in the British Army, he studied at Balliol College, Oxford and then joined the Foreign Office, serving in Indonesia and Montenegro, Yugoslavia. From 2000 to 2002, he walked 6,000 miles across Iraq, Afghanistan, Pakistan, India and Nepal. In 2003, he was posted to Iraq as CPA Deputy Governorate Coordinator. He became a Fellow of the Carr Centre at Harvard University in 2004, the same year The Places In Betweenwas published and won the Royal Society of Literature Oondatje Award. He was also that year awarded the OBE.
Reviews
This item was reviewed in:
Guardian UK, June 2006
Guardian UK, May 2007
To find out how to look for other reviews, please see our guides to finding book reviews in the Sciences or Social Sciences and Humanities.
Summaries
Back Cover Copy
Praise for The Places In Between: 'the most striking debut of the year' Independent 'This is travelling at its hardest and travel-writing at its best' David Gilmour 'This is an astonishing achievement: a unique journey of great courage' Colin Thubron 'wise, funny and marvelously humane' Michael Ignatieff 'Thank goodness for brave people doing crazy things and for a writer in the tradition of Thesiger and Thubron.' Spectator 'His encounters with Afghans are tragic, touching and terrifying.' Daily Telegraph '[this] evocative book feels like a long lost relic of the great age of exploration' Guardian 'Stewart's ability to speak Dari . . . and his understanding of Islamic culture give him an insight into the country which few could match.' New Statesman 'a compelling account' Times Literary Supplement 'a mature debut, and an intelligent and illuminating introduction to this fascinating, unfortunate country.' Telegraph ' The Places in Betweengoes straight into the highest echelons of travel literature' Wanderlust 'Stewart has a Mughal miniature-painter's gift: to render observed reality with the extreme clarity possible on a small scale.' Guardian
Description for Bookstore
A powerful follow up to Rory Stewart's remarkable debut, The Places In Between, which won the Royal Society of Literature Oondatje Award and the Spirit of Scotland Award and was shortlisted for the Guardian First Book Award, the John Llewellyn Rhys Memorial Prize and the Scottish Book of the Year Prize. At the age of thirty, Rory was appointed coalition deputy Governor of two provinces in the Marsh region of southern Iraq. He kept a journal of his experiences struggling to control assassinations and tribal conflict, rebuild the region's infrastructure and establish a new Iraqi government before the hand over of power in June 2004. His time in the Marsh region culminated in a terrifying siege during which he and his team were under sustained attack by insurgents. Haunted by his previous work and travels in Asia, Rory brings a unique sensitivity and perspective to the daily interactions between Iraqis and the coalition and to the perils and even comedy of foreign occupation. His luminous, sharp edged prose reveals a different Iraq to the one familiar to us from print and broadcast journalism and provides a nuanced and sympathetic picture of individuals, both Iraqi and foreign, struggling to manage the collapse of a state.
Bowker Data Service Summary
Rory Stewart served as Senior British Representative in Maysan in Southern Iraq until the handover of power in June 2004. He kept a journal of his experiences while under fire and trying to negotiate a settlement between rival factions. His narrative describes what it was like to try and piece together a country after invasion.
Back Cover Copy
Praise for The Places In Between: 'the most striking debut of the year' Independent 'This is travelling at its hardest and travel-writing at its best' David Gilmour 'This is an astonishing achievement: a unique journey of great courage' Colin Thubron 'wise, funny and marvelously humane' Michael Ignatieff 'Thank goodness for brave people doing crazy things and for a writer in the tradition of Thesiger and Thubron.' Spectator 'His encounters with Afghans are tragic, touching and terrifying.' Daily Telegraph '[this] evocative book feels like a long lost relic of the great age of exploration' Guardian 'Stewart's ability to speak Dari . . . and his understanding of Islamic culture give him an insight into the country which few could match.'New Statesman 'a compelling account' Times Literary Supplement 'a mature debut, and an intelligent and illuminating introduction to this fascinating, unfortunate country.' Telegraph 'The Places in Betweengoes straight into the highest echelons of travel literature' Wanderlust 'Stewart has a Mughal miniature-painter's gift: to render observed reality with the extreme clarity possible on a small scale.' Guardian

This information is provided by a service that aggregates data from review sources and other sources that are often consulted by libraries, and readers. The University does not edit this information and merely includes it as a convenience for users. It does not warrant that reviews are accurate. As with any review users should approach reviews critically and where deemed necessary should consult multiple review sources. Any concerns or questions about particular reviews should be directed to the reviewer and/or publisher.

  link to old catalogue

Report a problem