Psalmfest : for soprano and tenor soli, mixed choir, and orchestra /
John Rutter.
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, c1996.
1 vocal score (91 p.) ; 28 cm.
More Details
uniform title
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, c1996.
contents note
O be joyful in the Lord (choir) -- I will lift up mine eyes (choir and optional soloists) -- Praise the Lord, o my soul (choir) -- The Lord is my shepherd (choir and soloists) -- Cantate Domino (choir unaccompanied) -- The Lord is my light and my salvation (choir and soloists) -- O clap your hands (choir) -- O how amiable are thy dwellings (soloists) -- O praise the Lord of heaven (double choir).
general note
Duration: 45:00.
English words printed as text at p. 90-91.
Includes composer's note and words printed as texts.
Seven of the nine movements have been published separately as anthems.
catalogue key
A Look Inside
Review Quotes
'The work lasts 45 minutes, and will surely become a popular item in the repertoires not only of choral societies but also of choirs who want 8 anthems for liturgical use, at a cost much less than if each item were bought separately. Church Music Quarterly
'Compiled as it is from originally disparate elements, Psalmfest hangs together as a unity remarkably well. This is due partly to selection of material and judicious orchestration - always a Rutter strong point - and partly to the composer's tendency to respond to broadly similar texts in similar ways ... Of the newly-composed material, the concluding O praise the Lord of heaven (Psalm 148) takes the palm for its sparkling rhythms and effective antiphonal use of double choir.... The choral parts in Psalmfest are well within the means of any moderately competent choir ... I see no reason why Psalmfest should not become a popular work with choirs, choral societies and audiences.' Simon Mold, Choir and Organ July 98
To find out how to look for other reviews, please see our guides to finding book reviews in the Sciences or Social Sciences and Humanities.
Main Description
for soprano and tenor soloists and SATB choir, with keyboard or chamber ensemble or orchestra The nine movements form a single choral work comprising seven pieces previously published separately and two new movements. A broad range of emotions all find their place with rich and varied musical settings. Instrumental material and vocal scores are available on hire.

This information is provided by a service that aggregates data from review sources and other sources that are often consulted by libraries, and readers. The University does not edit this information and merely includes it as a convenience for users. It does not warrant that reviews are accurate. As with any review users should approach reviews critically and where deemed necessary should consult multiple review sources. Any concerns or questions about particular reviews should be directed to the reviewer and/or publisher.

  link to old catalogue

Report a problem