Catalogue


The bear-walker and other stories /
Basil H. Johnston ; illustrated by David A. Johnson.
imprint
Toronto : Royal Ontario Museum, c1995.
description
64 p. : ill. (some col.) ; 25 cm.
ISBN
0888544154
format(s)
Book
Holdings
More Details
added author
imprint
Toronto : Royal Ontario Museum, c1995.
isbn
0888544154
catalogue key
1418322
A Look Inside
Summaries
Unpaid Annotation
In the tradition of Tales the Elders Told and Tales of the Anishinaubaek, Basil Johnston's newest work, The Bear-Walker, brings to the printed page the spoken myths of his people, myths that have inspired exquisite paintings by David Johnson. Here is the native spirit, as told by the elders, tales of wisdom and humour, vision and fantasy, alive with a sense of the magical possibilities of life lived close to nature.
Table of Contents
The Bear-Walker (Mukwo-bimossae)p. 7
The Great Lynx (Mishi-bizheu)p. 17
Mer-Man (Nebaunaubae)p. 21
Fish (Geegoohnuk)p. 27
Red Willows (Zeesigoobimeeshuk)p. 33
The Snake and the Man (Ginaebig, Ininih gayae)p. 39
The Woodpecker (Paupaussae)p. 49
Bull Frog (Taendae)p. 55
Vision (Waussaeyaubindumowin)p. 61
Table of Contents provided by Blackwell. All Rights Reserved.

This information is provided by a service that aggregates data from review sources and other sources that are often consulted by libraries, and readers. The University does not edit this information and merely includes it as a convenience for users. It does not warrant that reviews are accurate. As with any review users should approach reviews critically and where deemed necessary should consult multiple review sources. Any concerns or questions about particular reviews should be directed to the reviewer and/or publisher.

  link to old catalogue

Report a problem