William McTaggart : the storm /
by Robert E. Moritz.
Germany : ArtHaus Musik, 2012.
1 online resource
More Details
Germany : ArtHaus Musik, 2012.
Licensed for access by U. of T. users.
general note
Title from resource description page (viewed Apr. 10, 2014).
'1000 Masterpieces from the Great Museums of the World' is one of the most successful TV series about art. The original, with improved image quality, takes us on a fascinating journey through the history of art. Comprehensively illustrated and compellingly presented -- the well-known authors of five short art surveys provide a deeper insight into the masterpieces of painting. The late 18th and early 19th centuries are regarded as a radical period in British art, in which artists responded to industrialisation and social change with new forms of genre painting and portraiture. Names like Wright of Derby, McTaggart, Wilkie, Raeburn and Millais symbolise a period of upheaval -- a time of both reflection and reorientation. Sir John Everett Millais: OPHELIA (1851-52) Joseph Wright of Derby: AN EXPERIMENT ON A BIRD IN THE AIR PUMP (1767/68) William McTaggart: THE STORM (1890) Sir David Wilkie: WILLIAM BETHUNE, HIS WIFE AND DAUGHTER (1804) Sir Henry Raeburn: REVEREND ROBERT WALKER SKATING (1784).
language note
This edition in English.
catalogue key
Previously released as DVD.

  link to old catalogue

Report a problem