Catalogue


The physick book of deliverance dane /
Katherine Howe.
imprint
Waterville, Me. : Thorndike Press, 2009.
description
633 p. (large print) ; 23 cm.
ISBN
1410418952 (alk. paper), 9781410418951 (alk. paper)
format(s)
Book
Holdings
More Details
imprint
Waterville, Me. : Thorndike Press, 2009.
isbn
1410418952 (alk. paper)
9781410418951 (alk. paper)
catalogue key
12018291
A Look Inside
Awards
This item was nominated for the following awards:
Original Voices Award, USA, 2009 : Nominated
Full Text Reviews
Appeared in Publishers Weekly on 2009-07-27:
Howe's novel moves back and forth between the summer of 1991 in Salem, Mass., and the 17th-century witch trial era, as college student Connie Goodwin chances upon a mysterious book written by the elusive Deliverance Dane. The characters are thin and the plot predictable, but Katherine Kellgren does her best with the material. Her voice is pleasing, her pacing and emphasis good, her diction clear but conversational. Most of her characters are distinguishable and reasonably represented, but the exaggerated British accent she adopts for the villain makes him more comical than terrifying. A Hyperion/Voice hardcover (Reviews, May 25). (June) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Appeared in Library Journal on 2009-10-15:
First-time author Howe contrasts the experiences of herbalist Deliverance Dane in 17th-century Salem, MA, with that of Harvard graduate student Connie Goodwin in 20th-century Boston. The plot is predictable, and the characters are poorly developed. (Also: a library that allows students to check out rare 300-year-old texts? In your dreams, Howe!) But actress Katherine Kellgren's youthful, appealing voice is a good match for the material; she's especially proficient in her reading of the historical characters. Brief musical interludes clue listeners in to the time shifts. Recommended for the book's popularity and the excellent narration. [The Hyperion hc was recommended as "a solid selection" likely to appeal to readers who enjoyed Brunonia Barry's The Lace Reader and Kathleen Kent's The Heretic's Daughter, LJ 5/15/09.-Ed.]-Juleigh Muirhead Clark, Colonial Williamsburg Fdn. Lib., VA (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.
Reviews
This item was reviewed in:
USA Today, December 2009
To find out how to look for other reviews, please see our guides to finding book reviews in the Sciences or Social Sciences and Humanities.
Summaries
Main Description
Written by an author completing a Ph.D. in New England Studies, and whose ancestors had been accused witches in Salem, "The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane" travels seamlessly between the trials in the 1690s and a modern woman's story of mystery and discovery.

This information is provided by a service that aggregates data from review sources and other sources that are often consulted by libraries, and readers. The University does not edit this information and merely includes it as a convenience for users. It does not warrant that reviews are accurate. As with any review users should approach reviews critically and where deemed necessary should consult multiple review sources. Any concerns or questions about particular reviews should be directed to the reviewer and/or publisher.

  link to old catalogue

Report a problem