Foreign Office files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan. Section I, Independence, partition and the Nehru era, 1947-1964
Great Britain. Foreign Office.
Marlborough, England : Adam Matthew Digital ; [Chicago, Ill. : Adam Matthew Education, North American distributor], c2011.
1 online resource
More Details
Marlborough, England : Adam Matthew Digital ; [Chicago, Ill. : Adam Matthew Education, North American distributor], c2011.
Licensed for access by U. of T. users.
general note
"DO 133, DO 134, FO 371 and FCO 37 files from The National Archives, Kew."
At head of title: Archives Direct, sources from the National Archives, Kew.
Files included in this section: DO 133 (1939-1964) ; DO 134 (1948-1963) ; FO 371 (1946-1964)
Includes documents concerning political and diplomatic activity in relation to the following topics: armed forces, ssassination, boundary disputes, caste, Christianity, communism, communalism, coup d'etat, democracy, diplomacy, economic aid, education, elections, five-year plan, foreign policy, Hinduism, independence, international borders, Islam, labour, land reform, migration, nationalism, non-alignment, Parsis, partition, peasantry, political parties, princely states, protectorates, railways, refugees, religious persecution, Scheduled Castes (Untouchables), Scheduled Tribes, separatism, socialism, trade, trade unions, tribes, United Nations, viceroys, war, women.
Includes material relating to the following people: Bimrao Ambedkar, Clement Attlee, Aung San, Muhammad Ayub Khan, Mohammed Bakshi Ghulam, Sirimavo Bandaranaike, Solomon Bandaranaike, Ernest Bevin, Muhammad Ali Bogra, Subhas Chandra Bose, Kodandera Cariappa, Winston Churchill, Philip Cunliffe-Lister, Morarji Desai, Sir Alec Douglas-Home, Anthony Eden, Dwight Eisenhower, Indira Gandhi, Mohandas (Mahatma) Gandhi, Madhav Sadashiv Golwalkar, Oliver Goonetilleke, Muhammad Ali Jinnah, Lyndon B. Johnson, John Fitzgerald Kennedy, Liaquat Ali Khan, John Kotelawala, Baron Selwyn-Lloyd, Harold Macmillan, Vengalil Krishna Menon, Iskander Ali Mirza, Louis Mountbatten, Malik Ghulam Muhammad, Khawaja Nazimuddin, Jawaharlal Nehru, Vallabhbhai Patel, Rajendra Prasad, Cyril Radcliffe, Sarpevalli Radhakrishnan, C. Rajagopalachari, Duncan Sandys, Don Senanayake, Lal Shastri, Tashi Namgyal of Sikkim, Kodendera Thimayya, Tribhuvan Bir Bikram Shah, Harry Truman, Jigme Wangchuck, Jigme Dorji Wangchuck, Archibald Wavell, Zahir Shah of Afghanistan.
Title from home page (viewed on 10 Apr. 2011)
This collection consists of the main British Government files on South Asia for the period between Indian and Pakistani independence and the death of Jawaharlal Nehru. The documents, from the Dominions Office (renamed Office of Commonwealth Relations in 1947) and Foreign Office, include diplomatic despatches, correspondence, newspaper cuttings, economic and military reports, statistical analyses, maps, photographs, minutes of meetings, and leaflets and other ephemera.
catalogue key
National Archives, Kew

  link to old catalogue

Report a problem